Welcome to our blog

Our hope is to provide a forum for mothers, fathers,and caregivers to discuss ideas, share insight and "pay it forward". Neither of us attended Medill school of journalism and we are not psychologists. We are just two women who have cared for aging grandparents and diapered littleones. We will share our experiences, tips and questions with you. Please share back. We need all the help we can get!

Kirsten and Katie
Co-founders ChicksWithKidz

Saturday, January 22, 2011

Summer Camp Guide 2011


General Camp Information:

American Camp Association (Virginia section) www.acavirginiascamps.org
Frost’s Summer Camp Guide www.gocamps.com
Camp Page Guide to Summer Camps www.camppage.com
National Camp Association www.summercamp.org

Programs specifically geared towards children with learning differences and special needs:

Oakland School, Keswick, VA www.oaklandschool.net
Basic Concepts, Rockville, MD www.basicconcepts.org
Camp Little Foot, Rockville, MD www.ttlc.org
Oakwood School, Annandale, VA www.oakwoodschool.com
The Lab School, Washington, DC www.labschool.org
Paladin Academic, Sterling, VA www.nubellearning.com
Capital Camps, www.capitalcamps.org
Camp JCC, www.jccgw.org
Summit Camp, Honesdale, PA, www.summitcamp.com
Over the Rainbow Camp, Bethesda, MD 301-384-5081
Kamp A-Kom-Plish - MD, www.kampakomplish.org
Summer Treatment Programs –
ADDitude’s camp Directory – www.additudemag.com/directory.asp
Directory of Summer Camps for Children with Learning Disabilities - $5,
Learning Disabilities Association, 4156 Library Road, Pittsburgh, PA
15234, 412-341-1515
Kids’ camps – www.kidscamps.com

Other camps/programs:


CompuWrite, George Mason University, http://kihd.gmu.edu/camps
Institute for the Arts, Fairfax Cty. Public Schools www.fcps.edu/DIS/OACE/prek12.html
Sport Rock Climbing Center, Alexandria & Rockville locations
Washington Sailing Marina, Alexandria, VA www.washingtonsailingmarina.com
Challenger Space Camp, Alexandria, VA www.launchpad.challenger.org
Virginia Baseball Club – various locations www.govbc.com
Torpedo Factory/Art League, Art camps, Alexandria, VA www.theartleague.org
Sports Broadcasting, Washington, DC www.playbyplaycamps.com
Browne Academy, Alexandria, VA www.browneacademy.org
Burgundy Farms School, Alexandria, VA www.burgundyfarm.org
St. Stephens/St. Agnes, Alexandria, VA www.sssa.org
Flint Hill School, Summer on the Hill www.flinthill.org
The Langley School, McLean, VA www.langleyschool.org
Episcopal High School, Various sports programs, Alexandria, VA
Potomac School Summer Programs, McLean, VA
DayJams Music Camp – various locations www.dayjams.com
Adventure Links, various VA locations www.adventurelinks.net
Rockville Skate Park, Rockville, MD www.ci.rockville.md.us
Fairfax County Park Authority www.fairfaxcounty.gov/parks
Fairfax County Public Schools, http://www.fcps.edu/news/sumsch.htm
Khary Stockton Soccer Camp, Alexandria, VA www.kharystocktonsoccer.com
Discovery Creek, Vienna, VA www.discoverycreek.org
Mt. Vernon Community Children’s Theater www.mvcct.org
Animal Camp, Vola Lawson Animal Shelter, Alexandria, VA www.alexandriaanimal.org
Calvary Road Christian School wwwcrcs.org
Computer Camp, Georgetown University, www.internaldrive.com
Arena Stage, www.arenastage.org
Wilderness Adventure, Virginia locations, www.wilderness-adventure.com
Congressional Camp, Falls Church www.cogocamp.org
Creative Cauldron Arts Adventure, Mason District Park, Annandale
Potomac Overlook Park, Jr. Naturalist www.nvpa.org

TADA!, musical theater camp, NVCC – Annandale Campus
TIC, Technology Camp, Bethesda & McLean www.ticcamp.com
Modeling Camp, Tysons, www.modelingcamp.com
Studio Theater Acting Conservatory, Washington, DC www.studiotheater.org
Basketball Camp – Bishop Ireton H.S., Alexandria, VA www.bishopireton.org
National Zoo – various camps – www.fonz.org
Sailing Camp – Belle Haven Marina – www.saildc.com
Alexandria Country Day School - www.acdsnet.org
ArtStar Youth Camp – www.lortonarts.com
Camp Creativity, Corcoran College of Art – www.corcoran.edu/campcreativity
Shakespeare – www.shakespearetheater.org
Chesapeake Academy Summer Session – www.qualitygraduates.org
Chinquapin Camp – www.alexandria.gov/recreation
Congressional Camp – www.congocamp.org
Fairfax Collegiate Summer Program - www.fairfaxcollegiate.com
Jewish Community Center of No. VA. –
Camp Achva – Fairfax – robinv@jccnv.org
Camp Shavuon – Falls Church- amyv@jccnv.org
Camp K’Tona – Alexandria – amyv@jccnv.org
KidSpanish – NVCC Alexandria – www.kidspanish.org
Levine School of Music – Arlington, DC – smennel@levineschool.org
Mad Science – Alexandria, Arlington – www.madscience.org/dc
Traveling Players Ensemble - Madiera School, Mclean, VA
Cybercamp – NVCC Alexandria – www.cybercamps.com
Theater Lab school of the Dramatic Arts – Washington DC,
Living Earth – Charlottesville, VA http://www.livingearthva.com/

Overnight Camps - CoEd

Camp Flintlock- MD, NC – www.campflintlock.com
Kroka Expeditions – Newfane, VT – www.kroka.org
Randolph-Macon Academy – Front Royal, VA – www.rma.edu
YMCA Camp Letts – Edgewater, MD – www.campletts.org
Camp Conrad Weiser – Wernersville, PA – www.smymca.org
Camp Hidden Meadows – Allegheny Mountains, WV –
Camp Highroad – Middleburg, VA – www.camphighroad.org
Camp Horizons – Harrisonburg, VA – www.camphorizonsVA.com
Camp St. Charles – Southern, MD – www.campstcharles.com
Camp Staunton Meadows – Clover, VA – www.campstauntonmeadows.com
Camp Tall Timbers- High View, WV – www.campfallingtimbers.com
Camp Twin Creeks- Marlington, WV – www.camptwincreeks.com
Camp Chanco on the James - Spring Grove, VA – www.chanco.org
Capital Camps – Waynesboro, PA – www.capitalcamps.org
Kamp A-Kom-Plish- Southern, MD – www.kampakomplish.org
National Young Leaders Conference – Tysons – www.cylc.org/nylc
Summer Camps on the River – Christ Church, VA –
Wilderness Adventure at Eagle Landing- New Castle, VA –
YMCA Camp Silver Beach – Jamesville, VA – www.campsilverbeach.org
SOAR – Success Oriented Achievement Realized - NC, www.soarnc.org

Boys Overnight

Camp Sea Gull – Arapahoe, NC – www.campsilverbeach.org
Science Camp Watonka – Hawley, PA – www.watonka.com
Valley Forge Military Academy – Wayne, PA – www.vfmac.edu
Camp Kooch –i-ching, Int’l Falls, MN – www.kooch-i-ching.org
Sanborn Western Camps: Big Spring Ranch 4 Boys, http://bit.ly/7rdCE

Girls Overnight

Camp Carysbrook – Riner, VA – www.campcarysbrook.com
Camp Rim Rock – Yellow Spring, WV – www.camprimrock.com
Camp Seafarer – Arapahoe, NC – www.seagull-seafarer.org
Hameau Farm in the Big Valley – Belleville, PA – www.hameaufarm.com
Kroka Expeditions – Newfane, VT – www.kroka.org
Sanborn Western Camps - High Trails Ranch 4 Girls Florissant, CO http://bit.ly/7rdCE